ROAP Asia 2021 Mock Hearing – 22 April 2021

Delos

This ROAP Asia Mock Hearing will take place on Thursday 22 April at 9am London / 12pm Dubai / 4pm Singapore / 5pm Seoul and feature the following: Tribunal and Observer: Tiwalade ADEROJU, Monisha CHEONG, Valerie KOH and Bo PENG Counsel for Claimant: Amélie LUCCHESE and Lauren TOLEDO Counsel for Respondent: Daniel LIU and Yvonne MAK Matter: Alleged contractual and statutory breaches in Origin v JFI Global Purchasing, ICC Case No. 21763 Register for this mock hearing here: Find out more about the ROAP Mock Hearings here. With the support of:

In conversation with Neil – Justin D’Agostino

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao will be joined by Justin D’Agostino on Tuesday 18 May at 8am London / 9am Paris / 3pm Hong Kong / 5pm Melbourne. Duration: about one hour, including Q&A. Register for this free webinar here and find out more about Justin below: Justin D’Agostino is the global Chief Executive Officer at Herbert Smith Freehills. During his lifelong career with the firm, Justin has overseen the growth of the firm’s market-leading Disputes practice and rapid expansion in Asia becoming global CEO on 1 May 2020. He has also established a market-leading reputation in the field of international arbitration – as a thought leader, as arbitrator and having appeared before tribunals all over the world. Justin is a member of the ICC’s … Read More

ROAP Asia 2021 Mock Hearing – 15 April 2021

Delos

This ROAP Asia Mock Hearing will take place on Thursday 15 April at 9am London / 12pm Dubai / 4pm Singapore / 5pm Seoul and feature the following: Tribunal and Observer: Georgios FASFALIS, Marjan FAZELI, Eliza JIANG and Dennis WU Counsel for Claimant: Wang Ting SEAH and Philip WIMALASENA Counsel for Respondent: Nicholas HOH and Marina KOFMAN Matter: Alleged contractual and statutory breaches in Origin v JFI Global Purchasing, ICC Case No. 21763 Register for this mock hearing here: Find out more about the ROAP Mock Hearings here. With the support of:

TagTime S03E06 – Prof. Maxi Scherer on “An Arbitration Evergreen: What Is the Law Governing the Arbitration Agreement?”

Delos

Prof. Maxi Scherer discussed “An Arbitration Evergreen: What Is the Law Governing the Arbitration Agreement?” with hosts Dr Kabir Duggal and Amanda Lee. Maxi was tagged by Ndanga Kamau; she in turn tagged Prof. Julian Lew QC. Professor Maxi Scherer is Special Counsel at Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP and regularly sits as arbitrator. She also holds the Chair for International Arbitration, Dispute Resolution and Energy Law at Queen Mary, University of London, and is Queen Mary’s Director of the Centre for Commercial Law Studies in Paris and of the LLM in Paris programme. Prof. Scherer further serves on the Delos Board of Advisors and acts as the General Editor of the Kluwer Journal of International Arbitration. She was previously Global … Read More

ROAP Asia 2021 Mock Hearing – 8 April 2021

Delos

This ROAP Asia Mock Hearing featured the following: Tribunal and Observer: Daniel LEE, Daniel LIU, Amélie LUCCHESE and Yvonne MAK Counsel for Claimant: Tiwalade ADEROJU and Weina YE Counsel for Respondent: Niyati GANDHI and Christina LO Matter: Alleged contractual and statutory breaches in Origin v JFI Global Purchasing, ICC Case No. 21763 Find out more about the ROAP Mock Hearings here. With the support of:

TagTime S03E05 – Andrés Jana on “Applying Substantive Law in International Arbitration: Is There a Case for Harmonization?”

Delos

Andrés Jana discussed “Applying Substantive Law in International Arbitration: Is There a Case for Harmonization?” with Dr Kabir Duggal and Amanda Lee. The recording is available here. Andrés was tagged by Yoshimi Ohara, he in turn tagged Eduardo Damião Gonçalves. Andrés Jana is a founding partner at Chilean law firm Bofill Mir & Alvarez Jana. Between 1996 and 1998 he was the Director of Legal Studies of the Central Bank of Chile. He obtained his LL.M. from Harvard University and graduated summa cum laude from the Law School of the Universidad de Chile. He has vast experience as counsel, arbitrator and expert in international disputes involving commercial, investment and international public law issues, before the ICJ, ICSID, the ICC, the LCIA, the … Read More

TagTime S03E04 – Yoshimi Ohara on “When Arbitration Meets IP Disputes – Settling Global Patent Disputes in a Single Arbitration”

Delos

Yoshimi Ohara discussed “When Arbitration Meets IP Disputes – Settling Global Patent Disputes in a Single Arbitration” with Dr Kabir Duggal and Amanda Lee. The recording is available here. Yoshimi was tagged by Matt Gearing QC; she in turn tagged Andrés Jana. Yoshimi Ohara is a Partner at Nagashima Ohno & Tsunematsu. Her practice focuses on international arbitration, international complex litigation and mediation. She represents both domestic and foreign clients in international arbitration in various venues under the rules of the ICC, AAA/ICDR, SIAC and JCAA. With a strong corporate and IP background, she has extensive experience in dealing with disputes covering a wide range of subjects, including joint ventures, M&A, energy, construction, technology transfer, intellectual property, shipping, sales and distribution. … Read More

The Often Overlooked Value of African Seats for African-Chinese Disputes

Delos

African seats for Chinese-African disputes have been unfairly overlooked. The critics lament the perceived flaws of the African arbitration infrastructure, the inexperienced judiciary, and the low enforcement rate, amongst other disadvantages. The proponents suggest that, with the respondents’ assets located predominantly in Africa, and with the contested projects located in Africa as well – selecting an African seat would make enforcement more straightforward and the conduct of the arbitration more predictable. Fangda Partners joins forces with Delos Dispute Resolution and Asafo & Co. to host an interactive roundtable on the value of African seats for African-Chinese disputes. The virtual roundtable will feature Tunde Fagbohunlu SAN, Julia (Zhang) Le Roux, Michael Tam and Peter Po Kwong Yuen. It will be moderated … Read More

In conversation with Neil – Sir Franklin Berman QC

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao hosted Sir Franklin Berman QC. The recording is available here. Sir Franklin (Frank) Berman joined HM Diplomatic Service in 1965 and was the Legal Adviser to the Foreign & Commonwealth Office from 1991-99. For the past 20 years he has been in practice in Essex Court Chambers specializing in international arbitration and advisory work in international law. He is Visiting Professor of International Law at Oxford and the University of Cape Town. His over 50-year career in international law and diplomacy has spanned a wide and varied field, including settlement of disputes; the law of treaties; State responsibility; diplomatic and State immunity; maritime delimitation; the law of the Continental shelf; outer space and nuclear energy; the law of international … Read More

In conversation with Neil – Prof. George Bermann

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao will be joined by Prof. George Bermann on Tuesday 27 April at 7am New York / 12pm London / 1pm Paris / 7pm Hong Kong / 9pm Melbourne. Duration: about one hour, including Q&A.  Register for this free webinar here and find out more about Prof. Bermann below: George A. Bermann is a professor of law at Columbia Law School, where he directs the Center for International Commercial and Investment Arbitration.  He is also a member of the faculty of the Ecole de droit, Sciences Po (Paris), the Geneva LL.M. in International Dispute Settlement (MIDS), and the Sciences Po LL.M.in Transnational Arbitration and Dispute Settlement. Professor Bermann is an active and experienced international commercial and investment arbitrator and member of the panels of … Read More