Home Events Book Launch: Force Majeure and Hardship in the Asia Pacific Region

Date

24 January 2022
Expired!

Time

7 h 00 min - 8 h 30 min

Book Launch: Force Majeure and Hardship in the Asia Pacific Region

 

Dr. Harald Sippel and Dr. Kabir Duggal along with NYIAC invite you to a timely launch on a book entitled “Force Majeure and Hardship in the Asia Pacific Region.” This book provides us with a comprehensive discussion of these topics in 17 jurisdictions. Join the epic book launch on Monday, 24 January 2022 at: 7:00 AM ET 12:00 PM London 1:00 PM CET 4:00 PM Dubai 5:30 PM New Delhi 8:00 PM Singapore 9:00 PM Seoul/Tokyo 11:30 PM Melbourne 

Click Here to Sign Up

The Covid-19 pandemic persists with new variants emerging. Now almost two years in, governments continue to impose lockdowns, travel restrictions, and other measures to contain the spread of the virus. Interruption to business is broader, including the impact of global natural disasters: hurricanes in the Americas, tsunamis in Asia, volcano eruptions in Iceland. Match this with human error akin to the 2021 Suez Canal Blockage, and important narratives about causation unfold.

  HARALD SIPPEL is the founder of sippel.legal, an international boutique firm with a special focus on East Asia and the ASEAN region in particular. Having spent the major part of his career in East Asia and speaking several Asian languages, Dr. Sippel regularly assists companies from the “Western World” with their activities in the Asia Pacific Region, both with their contentious and non-contentious matters. Applying a holistic approach, his advice always includes business, cultural and other relevant considerations. He is also the founder of forcemajeure.asia, the world’s first website dedicated to legal and practical matters of force majeure, including a tailor-made force majeure clause builder. 
  KABIR DUGGAL is an attorney in Arnold and Porter’s New York office focusing on international investment arbitration, international commercial arbitration, and public international law matters, serving both as arbitrator and counsel.  Dr. Duggal is also a Lecturer-in-Law at Columbia Law School, an adjunct Professor at Fordham Law School and is a Course Director and Faculty Member for the Columbia Law School-Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Comprehensive Course on International Arbitration.    He also acts as a Consultant for the United Nations Office of the High Representative for Least Developed Countries, Landlocked Developing Countries and Small Island Developing States (UN-OHRLLS) on the creation of a novel “Investment Support Program.”  He has also conducted training and capacity-building sessions for several Governments including Colombia, Saudi Arabia, Myanmar, India, Philippines among others on public international law and dispute resolution matters. He has published over 40 articles and has spoken at over 300 arbitration events all over the world. He is also the Co-Founder of REAL (Racial Equality for Arbitration Lawyers), a non-profit seeking to create greater representation in international arbitration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTER





CONTACT US AT:

INFO@DELOSDR.ORG

DELOS DISPUTE RESOLUTION
PALAIS BRONGNIART
16 PLACE DE LA BOURSE
75002 PARIS



DELOS DISPUTE RESOLUTION
2018 Ⓒ ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
PRIVACY POLICY
TERMS OF USE