In conversation with Neil – Sir Christopher Greenwood GBE CMG QC

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao will be joined by Sir Christopher Greenwood GBE CMG QC on Tuesday 6 July at 9am London / 12pm Dubai / 4pm Singapore / 6pm Sydney. Duration: about one hour, including Q&A. Register for this free webinar here and find out more about Sir Christopher Greenwood below: Sir Christopher Greenwood GBE CMG QC read law at Magdalene College, Cambridge, where he was awarded a BA (Law) (First Class Hons) in 1976, LLB (International Law) (First Class Hons) in 1977, and became an MA in 1981.  As an undergraduate, he was elected President of the Cambridge Union in 1976.   Elected a Fellow of Magdalene College in 1978, he taught law there and at the Cambridge University Law Faculty for nearly twenty years.  He was … Read More

In conversation with Neil – Prof. Pierre Tercier

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao will be joined by Prof. Pierre Tercier on Tuesday 13 July at 8am London / 9am Fribourg / 11am Dubai / 3pm Hong Kong. Duration: about one hour, including Q&A. Register for this free webinar here and find out more about Prof. Pierre Tercier below: Prof. Pierre Tercier is a Professor emeritus at the University of Friborg and Honorary President of the International Court of Arbitration of the ICC. He now works mainly as an independent arbitrator. For over a generation, Pierre Tercier has been one of the most respected legal scholars in the Switzerland. He has authored more than 250 legal writings, focusing on contract law and international arbitration, among which there are several treatises that have become instant classics. Pierre Tercier … Read More

In conversation with Neil – Sarah Grimmer

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao will be joined by Sarah Grimmer on Tuesday 20 July at 8am London / 11am Dubai / 3pm Hong Kong /  7pm Auckland. Duration: about one hour, including Q&A. Register for this free webinar here and find out more about Sarah Grimmer below: Sarah Grimmer is Secretary-General of the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre responsible for its international dispute resolution services and operations from Hong Kong, Seoul, and Shanghai. She was formerly Senior Legal Counsel at the Permanent Court of Arbitration in The Hague where she administered inter-state, investor-state, and commercial arbitrations involving states or state-entities. Prior to joining the PCA, Sarah was a member of the Secretariat at the ICC International Court of Arbitration in Paris where she administered commercial arbitrations under … Read More

In conversation with Neil – Aisha Abdallah

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao will be joined by Aisha Abdallah on Tuesday 22 June 2021 at 8am London / 10am Nairobi / 3pm Hong Kong / 5pm Sydney. Duration: about one hour, including Q&A. Register for this free webinar here and find out more about Aisha Abdallah below: Aisha Abdallah heads the Disputes Resolution department at Anjarwalla & Khanna. Her practice focuses on commercial litigation, with a particular emphasis on fraud, economic crime and disputes over land, the environment and natural resources. Aisha is dual qualified as an Advocate of the High Court of Kenya and Solicitor of England and Wales. Aisha was appointed to the MARC Court in 2017, the ADR arm of the Mauritius Chamber of Commerce and Industry. She is the lead author of the … Read More

In conversation with Neil – Prof. Pierre Mayer

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao will be joined by Prof. Pierre Mayer on Tuesday 29 June 2021 at 9am London / 12pm Dubai / 4pm Hong Kong / 6pm Melbourne. Duration: about one hour, including Q&A. Register for this free webinar here and find out more about Prof. Mayer below: Prof. Pierre Mayer is a founding partner of Mayer Greenberg. He acts as an independent arbitrator and occasionally as counsel. He was previously a partner at Dechert, after having spent many years as counsel at Coudert Brothers and Clifford Chance. He was formerly the President of the International Academy for Arbitration Law, the President of the French Committee on International Private Law, the President of the Committee on International Commercial Arbitration of the International Law Association (ILA) and the President of … Read More

In conversation with Neil – Prof. Doug Jones

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao hosted Prof. Doug Jones. The recording is available here. Prof. Doug Jones AO is a leading independent international commercial and investor-state arbitrator with over 40 years’ prior experience as an international transactional and disputes project lawyer. Doug is a door tenant at Atkin Chambers London and has offices in Sydney and Toronto. Doug is also an International Judge of the Singapore International Commercial Court. He has been involved in over 140 arbitrations spanning over 30 jurisdictions in disputes of values exceeding some billions $US. In addition, Doug has held appointments at several international professional associations, including as President of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (CIArb) and the Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration (ACICA). Find out more about Neil Kaplan, … Read More

Conversation Special on Construction Experts

Delos

Neil Kaplan, Hafez Virjee and Prof. Doug Jones hosted John Lancaster, Wendy MacLaughlin, Ian McIntyre and Jon Prudhoe in a Conversation Special on Construction Experts. The recording is available here. ABOUT OUR SPEAKERS Professor Doug Jones AO (chair)Doug Jones AO is a leading independent international commercial and investor-state arbitrator with over 40 years’ prior experience as an international transactional and disputes project lawyer. Doug is a door tenant at Atkin Chambers London and has offices in Sydney and Toronto. Doug is also an International Judge of the Singapore International Commercial Court. He has been involved in over 140 arbitrations spanning over 30 jurisdictions in disputes of values exceeding some billions $US. In addition, Doug has held appointments at several international professional associations, including … Read More

Conversation Special on Quantum Experts

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Prof. Doug Jones hosted Richard Boulton QC, Andrew Flower, Brent Kaczmarek, Liz Perks and Neill Poole in a Conversation Special on Quantum Experts. The recording is available here. ABOUT OUR SPEAKERS Professor Doug Jones AO (chair)Doug Jones AO is a leading independent international commercial and investor-state arbitrator with over 40 years’ prior experience as an international transactional and disputes project lawyer. Doug is a door tenant at Atkin Chambers London and has offices in Sydney and Toronto. Doug is also an International Judge of the Singapore International Commercial Court. He has been involved in over 140 arbitrations spanning over 30 jurisdictions in disputes of values exceeding some billions $US. In addition, Doug has held appointments at several international professional … Read More

In conversation with Neil – Justin D’Agostino

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao hosted Justin D’Agostino. The recording is available here. Justin D’Agostino is the global Chief Executive Officer at Herbert Smith Freehills. During his lifelong career with the firm, Justin has overseen the growth of the firm’s market-leading Disputes practice and rapid expansion in Asia becoming global CEO on 1 May 2020. He has also established a market-leading reputation in the field of international arbitration – as a thought leader, as arbitrator and having appeared before tribunals all over the world. Justin is a member of the ICC’s Governing Body for Dispute Resolution Services, an alternate member of the ICC International Court of Arbitration and immediate past Chairman of its Belt & Road Commission, a member of the Hong Kong Department of … Read More

In conversation with Neil – Sir Franklin Berman QC

Delos

Neil Kaplan and Chiann Bao hosted Sir Franklin Berman QC. The recording is available here. Sir Franklin (Frank) Berman joined HM Diplomatic Service in 1965 and was the Legal Adviser to the Foreign & Commonwealth Office from 1991-99. For the past 20 years he has been in practice in Essex Court Chambers specializing in international arbitration and advisory work in international law. He is Visiting Professor of International Law at Oxford and the University of Cape Town. His over 50-year career in international law and diplomacy has spanned a wide and varied field, including settlement of disputes; the law of treaties; State responsibility; diplomatic and State immunity; maritime delimitation; the law of the Continental shelf; outer space and nuclear energy; the law of international … Read More